R18 Classic Gas Tank Question

Hello Gents. This is my first post on this forum. I've been riding bikes for over 55 years. Have had a score-plus of bikes and nearly a quarter of a million miles in the saddle. I've never owned a Beemer, but I really love the looks of the R18 Classic. There are a ton of ridiculous deals on them out there.
Here's my question. Is it possible to put an R18b fuel tank (6.3 gallons) on a Classic? Why BMW would put a 4.2 gallon tank on a bike that has cruise control and light touring potential is beyond my comprehension.
Any insight on this would be appreciated as I am pondering whether I can move from my Street Glide with a 6 gallon tank, to the Classic with it's tiny fuel tank.

I don’t think it is possible. There are many differences between the Classic & Bagger that would make it difficult.
I agree that the tank isn’t great on the Classic but I can squeeze 150-160 miles from mine on my 75 mile commute mainly on motorways cruising at 70mph. I always reset the trip meter at fill ups & the reserve warning usually comes up at around 135 miles. Obviously it all depends on how you ride as to what range you’ll get.
If a bigger tank is so concerning for you why not just get a bagger instead of the Classic? I love my Classic & it suits my needs but if I toured I’d definitely look at the bagger but not only because of the bigger tank. The fairing on the bagger gives a lot more protection than the Classic screen plus the bagger has all the toys!

I agree with the last statement, that it may not fit. I was gambling with the same idea because I think the FE tank is just a little too small. But I was told that the B tank is longer and thus won't fit ... But I would be happy if someone could prove that wrong 😉

No idea about the Classic but here is something I copied time ago, I hope to be of help …

Because I get a lot of inquiries about how I moved the 24L tank from the Bagger model to the R18FE, I decided to write a list of necessary modifications